Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins

25063781
Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, Edited by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins, best known for Anna and the French Kiss has edited a brand new collection of short stories for teens, just in time for reading at the beach!

Every story in the collection is a love story that takes place during the summer, but that's about all they have in common. The stories span many genres, including urban fantasy, horror, contemporary romance.  The characters are also diverse, and several of the love stories are between LGBT characters.

I find that short story collections are a great way to get a taste of new-to-me authors. Frequent readers of YA fiction will recognize many of the authors in this collection (links below go to the authors' works in the VBPL catalog):

  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Francesca Lia Block
  • Libba Bray
  • Cassandra Clare
  • Brandy Colbert
  • Tim Federle
  • Lev Grossman
  • Nina Lacour
  • Stephanie Perkins
  • Veronica Roth
  • Jon Skovron
  • Jennifer E. Smith

Readers who enjoy Summer Days and Summer Nights will also enjoy Perkins' first edited short story collection, My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories (who says you can't read Christmas romances at the beach!), and other short story collections, such as Twice Told, First Kiss (Then Tell), and Foretold.

Search for more YA Short Story Collections in the VBPL Catalog!




No comments: