Tuesday, August 06, 2013

The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen

Lindsey Rose is about to achieve her dream and become a partner at a high powered advertising agency in New York City. Through no fault of her own, the partnership goes to someone else and a mistake made in her drunken state following this announcement brings a sudden halt to her successful career.

She returns home to her parents in shame and tries to keep her mistake a secret while looking for a job in her hometown. For as long as she can remember, Lindsey has been the less exciting and more responsible twin as compared to her beautiful and popular sister Alex. Her identity as the smart and responsible one is shaken as she learns what she really wants from life and discovers some surprising things about her sister.

As Lindsey and Alex get to know each other better without the silly high school rivalry getting in their way, they find that they had been denying themselves the comfort and love of a sisterly relationship for years. When hard times fall on both sisters, their relationship is tested once more.

Fans of books about family dynamics will enjoy The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen, especially those who have personal experience with sibling rivalry. This fast paced and character-driven novel would be a great light beach read during the last few weeks of Summer. Pekkanen’s writing will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella and Jennifer Weiner.

No comments: