Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

The oldest of three daughters, Sophie has resigned herself to a dull and uninteresting future, taking over her father’s hat shop. However, when she unwittingly offends the vengeful Witch of the Waste, Sophie is punished with a curse that turns her into an old hag. The only way for her to break the spell is to find the wandering home of the Wizard Howl; a castle that literally roams the hills near her town.

Through her quest to break the curse, Sophie meets a scarecrow who is more than he seems, a fire demon locked in a secret contract with Howl, and a much hassled young apprentice trying to make sense of everything. She also learns that the mysterious Wizard Howl—rumored to be an evil wizard who eats the souls of young girls—may not be exactly what he seems.

Howl's Moving Castle is the first of three Wizard Howl books written by Diana Wynne Jones. It is an elaborately woven story full of twists and turns that may catch you by surprise! Sophie is the ideal heroine as she works to discover her own inner strength and rely on herself to do what needs to be done.

Follow Sophie on her unusual adventure as she travels in the Wizard Howl’s moving castle, tries to untangle her curse, uncovers a deep secret, and—ultimately—meets the Witch of the Waste head-on to save her entire kingdom!

If you enjoy the book, check out Hayao Miyazaki’s stunning film adaptation, Howl’s Moving Castle. Or check out The Princess Bride or Dealing With Dragons for more page-turning, fantasy adventure!


Carolyn said...

What is the third Howl book?

Jess said...

Ooh! Great question! The second book in the Howl series is "Castle in the Air," and the third is "House of Many Ways." I mention both because I accidentally read them out of order; but the series is still wonderful, whichever way you read them.